top of page

EMMA'S TRIP TO MEXICO


This past Christmas I took a much needed vacation to what I consider to be paradise aka Playa Del Carmen and Tulum in Mexico. I spent the majority of my time there on white sand beaches with clear turquiose water, wandering thousand year old Aztec ruins, swimming in underground caves filled with crystal clear freshwater, and of course exploring Playa Del Carmen and Tulum. There were also a few fresh coconuts involved. ;) I took a some photos along the way so you could all experience what it was like to visit this beautiful area!

All the photos above were taken from the condo my family rented in Playa Del Carmen. The place was so beautiful and had a gorgeous deck with two pools and a whole bunch of white lounging furniture (perfect for tanning). It was so nice to spend some quality time with my family (that's my cousin Zoe up there if you were wondering) because they all live on the East Coast which means I never get to see them!! It has kind of become a Christmas tradition to go somewhere warm with them because they actually have winter over there. Hey, I'm not complaining. I'll use any excuse to go somewhere tropical. ;)

My outfit: Dress/Zara, Sunglasses/Madewell; Zoe's outfit: Dress/Wanelo; Bikini/Victoria's Secret

Right off the bat, I knew I wanted to try every water activity possible Mexico had to offer. Sadly, there isn't enough time in the world, nor is there EVER enough space when you try to book an activity (that meant no swimming with manatees/dolphins) *insert passive aggresive sigh.* No worries, I watched others swim with them plus I got to do plenty of other activities. I jumped off a cliff twice, parasailed, jetskied, snuba dived (yes that is a mixture between scuba and snorkel), swam in cenotés (underground caves), toured a natural reserve on a VERY bumpy boat ride, and of course I got my feet cleaned by dead-skin eating fish (yup you heard me) because why not. The pictures above were taken at a natural "amusement park" right outside of Playa Del Carmen called Xel-Ha. These kinds of parks offer all kinds of water activities that you can't always find on the beaches like cliff-jumping and the fish (it tickled like crazy)!

My outfit: Swimsuit/L-Space; Zoe's outfit: Bikini top and bottoms/Victoria's Secret

The cenotés were incredible. A few of them had some bats that were hanging around the ceiling.

I couldn't believe Chichen Itza. It was too crazy for me to process that this pyramid structure was built about a thousand years ago and it is still in amazing condition. I guess that's why it's one of the Wonders of the World. ;)

Tulum was pretty astounding as well. I mean they really had great real estate being on the coast's edge and all. Those Aztecs knew what they were doing back then.

Of course on the way back we had to stop at the beach for coconuts. When in Tulum!

My outfit: Dress/Zara, Bralette/Free People, Swimsuit/Robin Piccone

Back in Playa Del Carmen we wandered around and stumbled upon this gorgeous textile and blouse shop. Everything was so vibrantly colored and had traditional intricate weave work. Sadly, that meant it was also super expensive, so I took photos to make up for the loss. ;)

Right by our condo there was a little shop that served all things chocolate! How could I pass that up?? Clearly I didn't. Hot chocolate + a little bit of cinnamon= heavenly perfection. :))

Mexico is truly a wonderful country, especially the area I luckily got to visit. Playa Del Carmen is the perfect place for a layed back vacation, with enough room to go and explore. Tulum is more of a beach town making it the perfect place to relax and surround yourself with the beautiful nature. I'm so thankful I have such a loving family that goes on such wonderful trips like this! It felt so good to see a part of my family I don't get to see often in a place where we could all just have fun with each other and catch up. I put together a little video that you can check out so you can see some of the action from my trip! I hope you enjoyed this post as much as I loved experiencing Mexico. ;)

xoxo,

Emma

Related Posts

See All

Comentários


  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
bottom of page