top of page

TREAT YO' SELF TO EMMA'S AVOCADO TOAST


We all have our little victories once in awhile; from successfully throwing a piece of trash into a bin from a (somewhat) sizeable distance, to getting all the lyrics right to a rap you've been trying to perfect for weeks. I recently had one of those moments actually when I was making myself breakfast this weekend. I finally decided to tackle and perfect a sunny side up egg to top off my already delicious (but egg-deprived) avocado toast, and boy it feels good. I used this little tip from Ree Drummond (yes that's THE Pioneer Woman) which ended up being extremely helpful for a egg novice such as myself. This summer I've decided to try and treat myself to one really nice breakfast that takes a little extra time to prepare every week. I've kept that promise up pretty much so far and I've got to say, it's been nice. My go-to will always be an açaí bowl, but sometimes I don't always have enough fruit in the house so my backup is usually avocado toast. Right now I'm going to share with you all how I like to prepare this simple dish at home.

Gather up all your ingredients.

If you're just making this for yourself, start with using only half an avocado. If you need a little more go ahead and take some, no one's stopping you. ;) Mash with a fork the avocado you decide to use with a pinch of salt, a pinch of pepper, a dash of harissa spice mix, and a squeeze of half a lemon.

Set your avocado mixture to the side so you can start on that egg! So as I mentioned before, Ree Drummond's canola oil trick is the key to making the most perfect sunny side up egg, but I also think it's a good idea to butter the pan a little as well just in case it starts to stick. But absolutely follow everything she says about spooning a little bit of canola oil on to the egg whites, and then eventually on the yolk itself once the whites stop jiggling. That 100000% works and makes that perfect egg you've been looking for happen!

After you know your egg is all cooked, stick a piece of any kind of bread into the toaster. I prefer a 9 grain squaw but this is where you can get a little creative. Lots of people like a nice old fashioned sourdough though. Any which way you go, it's bound to taste amazing. Once the toast is done, spoon about 3 tablespoons of your avocado mixture onto the toast and spread it around. Then add your egg on top for a nice colorful finish. You can garnish your entire toast with a little more salt and harissa just for that extra flavor. Otherwise, you're good to go! As far as a "recipe" goes, all I really have is a list because they're basically all measure to taste.

Ingredients:

Avocado (1/2 and a little more if necessary)

Salt (to taste)

Pepper (to taste)

Harissa (to taste; it's very, very mild if you were wondering, and also available at spice stores and apparently Williams Sonoma)

1/2 a lemon (juiced)

1 large egg

1 tablespoon of canola oil (for the egg trick)

Toast of your choice

Directions:

1. Start off by mashing together the avocado, salt, pepper, harissa, and lemon with a fork.

2. Use all your newly acquired tips and tricks to fry up a sunny side egg. And while this is going on, toast your toast of preference.

3. Assemble and enjoy!

It's really that simple and that's a reason I love this breakfast staple so much. It's so easy and quick to cook, making it perfect for those days when you want to try but not way too hard. Enjoy my darlings. ;)

xoxo,

Emma

Related Posts

See All
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
bottom of page