top of page

IPSY REVIEW + UNBOXING JULY'S GLAM BAG


Ahhhh... Ipsy. There are too many words to describe my love/hate relationship with this company... so I'll try to keep this review short. Ipsy is a $10 monthly subscription service that features 5 sample/deluxe sample sized products (sometimes even full sized!), and an Ipsy makeup bag that correlates with that month's theme. I've been subscribed to this service for probably over two years now, and plan on continuing my subscription, but to anyone thinking about making an Ipsy account--- read this first!

A good month for me in Ipsy terms is when I can actually use 3 or 4 out of the 5 products. I don't think I've ever received a glam bag in which I've used all 5 products more than once, and I've definitely received a glam bag where I could only use one product in it. By "use," I mean a product that I would actually want to incorporate into my makeup collection because it works with the kind of looks I do, that works for my crazy skin without irritating/breaking it out, and that isn't broken, missing, or in the wrong shade.

This month's glam bag is an example of a good month, I'm definitely going to try out 4 out of the 5 products I received! Here's each product I got, and my first impressions:

The first product I got is Too Faced's Hangover face primer, which I've heard amazing things about and am very excited to try :) ! Hoping it doesn't break me out or make my skin feel more oily...

I'm very excited about this next product! This is a single eyeshadow from the Balm's Meet Matt(e) Trimony matte eyeshadow palette in the shade "Matt Kumar." The photo doesn't do it justice, but this shade is sooo gorgeous! I tried it out an eyeliner on my upper lash line and it looked super cool ;) Green eyed gals-- this makes your eyes POP!

I tried this product out after I washed my hair the other day and it worked wonders on my post shower frizz! Obviously I need to test out this product further, but it seems like Eva Nye's Get Glossed Hair Serum will become one of my hair care must-haves ;)

Honestly, I tend to put my base eyeshadow on with my fingers... but I'll definitely try to use this Vasanti brush whenever I can, or on friends.

I feel so bad saying things about products I haven't even tried yet but I'm probably not ever going to try this because of my crazy sensitive, oily skin. Usually when this happens, I pass it on to a friend.

Overall, this bag is pretty great, and the makeup bag is so cute!

However, not all months are like this. A lot of the time, Ipsy sends products that I personally would never want to use, like bright purple pencil eyeliner and grey lipstick. These products may be good for more adventurous Ipsy users, but Ipsy asks you to fill out a quiz about your makeup style, skin type, and all other preferences, and it feels like they hardly ever regard those quizzes. When I ask for natural looking makeup, I still get a lot of crazy stuff. I even asked them not to send me any skincare whatsoever (because of my sensitivities), but they continue to send them to me. However, I get it, they can't tailor my glam bag specifically to my requests, it just feels like they don't even regard the preferences that they asked you to fill out.

Also, they're very inconsistent about their packaging; Myself and multiple Ipsy users I know have all received missing or broken products at some point (or more than once) during our subscription periods with Ipsy.

So, is Ipsy worth it? I think yes: $10 is nothing for the amount of use you get when trying out your new products (FIVE deluxe samples, that are higher end a lot of the time!) for such little money!), but just know that you may be disappointed at times, and may not get any use out of some of the products you receive. But that's just my experience. If you have an Ipsy, let us know if you've encountered the same kind of problems by contacting us on our Instagram!!

Thanks for reading ;) xx - Hannah

Related Posts

See All
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
bottom of page