top of page

OVERNIGHT PUMPKIN SPICE OATMEAL


It's a fact that "pumpkin spice" has become synonymous with the fall season. Who knew that a common household ingredient would reach this level of popularity? I've seen some pretty weird pumpkin spice combinations out there, from pumpkin spice pizza to pumpkin spice nachos (gross, I know), but I personally prefer my pumpkin spice in less zany mixtures. All of this pumpkin spice craziness got me thinking that I should throw some into my morning routine, and this overnight oatmeal was a result of that. Anything that tastes like dessert for breakfast is a win in my book, and this oatmeal is a dead-ringer for pumpkin pie filling.

Gather up all of your ingredients. You'll notice that there's no brown or white sugar here because the agave nectar does the job of sweetening for you. :)

Start by filling an 8 oz. mason jar with rolled oats.

Next, add the almond milk, pumpkin puree, pumpkin spice, cinnamon, salt, and agave. Then secure the lid onto the jar and shake it until everything inside looks combined. Once everything is mixed together place your jar in the fridge and dig in it the next morning for breakfast! Keep your oatmeal unopened until you are ready to eat it, so that it retains its freshness for as long as possible. These batches of oatmeal should stay good for about 4 days.

Ingredients:

2/3 cup of quick cooking rolled oats

2/3 cup of almond milk

1 tablespoon of pumpkin puree

1/2 teaspoon of pumpkin spice

1/8 teaspoon of cinnamon

1 teaspoon of agave nectar

A pinch of salt

Directions:

1. Fill an 8 oz. (half pint) mason jar with the rolled oats.

2. Add in the almond milk, pumpkin puree, pumpkin spice, cinnamon, salt, and agave nectar.

3. Close and secure the lid onto the jar and shake it until all of your ingredients are combined. You can open the jar and stir the oatmeal around with a spoon if you want to absolutely make sure everything got evenly mixed.

4. Close the jar (if it isn't already shut), and store it in the fridge until you are ready to eat it the next morning. If you are making this as a midday snack, I would put it in the fridge before eating it for at least a half an hour to bring out some of the flavors.

This is just about the easiest breakfast to make ahead, so I tend to prep three jars of it at a time. This makes it super easy for me to grab one out of the fridge in the morning! I usually eat it cold on busier days, but I love when I have time to heat it up for a minute in the microwave. The texture of these oats reminds me of rice pudding, which is one of my all-time favorite desserts, and the cinnamon flavor intensifies the longer you let it set in the fridge. These overnight oats have made my busy fall mornings feel so much easier, and give me a good reason to roll out of bed! As soon as you try this recipe out, you'll definitely be hooked. ;)

xoxo,

Emma

Related Posts

See All
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
bottom of page