top of page

POP ART HALLOWEEN MAKEUP TUTORIAL


It's that time of year again folks! That's right, Halloween is just around the corner. It feels like this amazing holiday sneaks up on me every year and I never have a costume ready in time. If this sounds like you too, don't worry; you've come to the right place. This Halloween look is for anyone who doesn't feel like searching for crazy detailed clothes to make a costume. Instead, you can use makeup! I decided for this year's 31st, I would channel Roy Lichtenstein's famous pop art pieces, so I brought in Emma to be my muse and human canvas. We had such a great time creating this fun look! It definitely took some time and patience, but overall, it's pretty simple.

Here's what I used on Emma:

(Pssst! If you decide to recreate this, use any products you like! The ones I used were just the products I already had in my makeup collection).

  • Laura Mercier invisible pressed powder

  • Smashbox primer water

  • Lorac Pro Palette

  • Benefit "They're Real" mascara

  • Kat Von D Ink Liner in Trooper

  • Naked 2 Basics Palette

  • NYX white liquid liner

  • City Color Highlight Trio

  • Too Faced Shadow Insurance

  • Beau Gachis Smudge-Tache brush

  • Absolute New York Nano Liner

  • NYX Jumbo eye pencil in Milk

  • Lancôme Drama Liqui-Pencil in Cote D'Azur

  • Styli-Style mechanical eye liner in Carbon Black

  • Real Techniques brow brush

  • Maybelline New York Lasting Drama waterproof gel pencil in Cashmere White

  • e.l.f. retractable lip brush

  • Urban Decay Vice lipstick in EZ

  • NYX prismatic shadow in Mermaid

  • Ciaté London Fierce Flicks liquid eyeliner

First, I asked Emma to do her everyday face makeup (some foundation and concealer) to get our base going. I then set her face with translucent powder and sprayed her entire face with primer water to make sure all of the colors were going to be as pigmented as they could be, and would stay on for as long as possible. I put on some eyeshadow primer as well.

Now onto the actual look. I wanted Emma's eyes to have a pop of color to recreate the colorful feel of pop art, so I went for a bright mermaid blue. I decided to keep it pretty concentrated on the lids instead of blending it out towards the brow bone. Then, I used the center highlight in my highlighter trio to add some light to the inner corners of Emma's eyes (the photo on the right). And just to clean everything up, I used "Cream" from the Lorac Pro palette.

Emma was very excited about her new Kat Von D Ink Liner so I decided to put it to good use with a simple winged look. This definitely helped play up the cartoon eyes found in pop art pieces.

Time to make those brows pop! I filled in Emma's brows with a darker shade than usual (Undone from Naked 2 Basics) for a stronger brow and a more "drawn on" look.

PSA: You might want to hold off on this next step until you've completed the rest of the eye makeup and lips. We made this mistake and it was really hard to work on the center of the face without smudging the beautiful dots! Other than the smudging later on, this part was simple. I just used the NYX jumbo eye pencil to create these big dots all over her face. Just make sure the dots are similar in size and are equidistant from each other.

Time to "contour" the face with liquid eyeliner. I just traced Emma's jaw line and the details of her nose, but feel free to trace your hairline and/or ears as well!

Again, do this part before the face makeup! Also, make sure you have a good product to use for this because ours really gave us some trouble (lots of crumbling and rubbing off... really Lancôme)? After we drew out the tears, which took a few practice runs to get the shape right, I outlined the shape with Absolute New York's nano eyeliner for a precise line. Emma had the idea of adding some dimension with the white strokes of liquid eyeliner, which totally improved the look!

Lastly, the lips! I picked a beautiful bright red for Emma from Urban Decay. To complete the look, I lined Emma's lips with black eyeliner (we would've use black lip liner if we had it), and added some white eyeliner to the bottom lip.

Et Voila! Such easy Halloween makeup, and no elaborate costume clothing is necessary! Emma and I really love this look, and we hope you do too! If you recreate it yourself, or do a variation of it, we want to see how it worked out for you so please send pictures of the final results to us on Instagram! We would love to see them. ;) Thanks for reading and have a happy Halloween! -Hannah :)

Related Posts

See All
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
bottom of page