top of page

FESTIVE WINTER GARDEN FLOWER WREATH


I love the holiday season. I know, I know so does everyone else but I mean it when I say that I REALLY love this time of the year. I love seeing people decorate their houses with colorful lights and blow-up reindeer. I love playing "Baby It's Cold Outside" and "All I Want for Christmas is You" on repeat. I love eating gingerbread with a cup of homemade hot cocoa while buried under 10+ blankets. I love it all, truly and completely. This year my household decided to be a little lazy in the decor department minus a few sparkly mason jars and thumb tack trees here and there (cough, cough last year's holiday DIYs) ;). It's been a crazy past couple of weeks around here, but now I finally have some time to relax, rejuvenate, and get back to crafting. I was in a bit of a creative drought recently, but the holiday season has got my juices flowing again. Keep on scrolling to find out how to make this gorgeous, festive (faux) flower wreath that will get people staring at your front-door situation all winter long.

All you need is:

1 styrofoam flower wreath

Scissors

Wire cutters (not pictured)

Hot glue gun

White satin ribbon

Wide decorative ribbon of your choosing (I used a cream canvas with black stripes)

A variety of fake flowers and greenery (I went with all white and some sprigs of green)

4 push pins

Removable hook or nail (for the the door)

Start by wrapping the white satin ribbon tightly around the entire base of the wreath. Make sure to put a bit of hot glue down every few loops (5-6 loops is best), and then cut another piece of ribbon and continue wrapping. Keep repeating this process until you've covered the whole wreath.

Now it's time for the fun part! Start by covering a large portion of the wreath with faux flowers, gluing them down so that they don't budge. Really try to fill the whole area until you can't see the base of the wreath. I arranged two large sections of flowers and then I tucked in the faux rosemary, various green leaves, sparkly gold leaves, and mini sparkly pinecones, gluing everything down as I went.

Next, attach the nail or hook to your door to hang the wreath from. I didn't want to make a hole in my door so I used a Command ™ hook. Then cut a piece of the decorative ribbon to attach to the back of the wreath. I glued it down with hot glue and then added two push pins to each side of the ribbon for extra security.

How pretty is that? I absolutely love the way it looks against my white door. It gives off lots of winter-garden-covered-in-a-fresh-coat-of -snow kind of vibes don't you think? Okay, maybe I'm getting ahead of myself, but anyone can admit that this wreath is pretty darn beautiful. Alright enough of my craft-gloating, go off now and make your own wreath!

Have a merry and wonderful holiday season everyone, and we'll see you soon in the new year!

xoxo,

Emma

Related Posts

See All
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
bottom of page