top of page

REVIEW FOR TWO: GLOSSIER'S BLACK TIE SET


It’s 2017! Wait, back up. Let us repeat, IT IS 2017!! We can’t believe it’s been another wild and wonderful year of creating content for you all. To those of you reading this who’ve been with us from the beginning, thank you. For the first post of 2017 we wanted to start off the year with something pretty. Without further ado, we proudly present a double review of Glossier’s Black Tie Set! Scroll on down to find out more about the cult beauty makeup set with pretty packaging that nearly broke the internet. :)

Emma’s take on No. 1 pencil in Graphite: Right about the time the Black Tie Set came out I was looking for an eyeliner. It seemed like destiny that my favorite beauty brand was releasing the product I was looking for. When the little white box showed up at my doorstep I was eager to rip it open and start using everything, but then I saw how pretty the packaging was so I got distracted immediately and started taking photos of it instead (classic me). Anyways, once I finally tried the liner I was immediately hooked. I suck at eyeliner (no really it’s true), so when I found that the No. 1 pencil relatively easy to apply I was shocked. The darkness of the liner isn’t exactly fully black which I find kind of nice since the other liner I use is practically midnight. It goes on a bit smudged which is also kind of nice since this allows you to make a few mistakes here and there. As a newbie in the world of eye makeup, I love this liner.

Hannah's take on No. 1 pencil in Graphite: I'm so happy Glossier has extended their product range to eye makeup!!! I'm always looking for subtle yet chic eye products, and this eyeliner suits that purpose perfectly. I absolutely love how the color of this eyeliner isn't jet black like most others. I love how natural it looks on my eyes because it blends right into the color of my eyelashes, which also aren't jet black :) The application is super smooth and easy as well. I would definitely recommend this to a makeup beginner because A) its easy to apply especially if you can't draw a straight line because of the smudger on the other end, B) it adds definition without making you look super dramatic (unless you go for a sharp wing with also looks FAB), and C) you don't have to sharpen it or worry about it being to sharp and poking you in the eye! My one issue with this product is that I find that after a long wear of this eyeliner, it smudges on your waterline. I wouldn't call it long-lasting, which Glossier claims it is, but hey maybe I just have really oily eyelids ;)

Emma’s take on Haloscope in Moonstone: Hannah and I have been praising Glossier’s highlighter for quite a while now. When we both heard the set would include a new highlighter, we went a bit nuts. I also love how it was pitched as being flattering on every skin tone since not a lot of makeup companies try too hard to accommodate everyone’s beautiful tones. Haloscope in Moonstone is a much less punchy highlighter which is nice for when you’re trying to be a little more low-key. Even though the products in this set are built around going out to parties and such, I find that this highlighter is actually light enough to use for everyday use.

Hannah's take on Haloscope in Moonstone: Sadly for this post, I gave my lovely friend this highlighter for her birthday instead of keeping it for myself. I thought since I have the original two Haloscopes, I wouldn't need a third. However, I've swatched the color on my hand from Emma's Haloscope in Moonstone, and it is dewy perfection!

Emma’s take on Lip Gloss: When I saw that GLOSSier was coming out with their own lip GLOSS, I nearly keeled over. I knew that the moment I tried this product on I would fall in love, and turns out I was right. Although the pink tint of the lip gloss leads you to think that this gloss is tinted, surprise it’s actually clear. I love using this gloss on top of my matte lipsticks since it’s extra moisturizing (I’m looking at you Generation G), and also by itself when I want to feel fancy but not too over the top. It glides on smooth and stays on your lips. Overall I gotta give this one a solid 10/10.

Hannah's take on Lip Gloss: Ah yes, my FAVORITE product from this set!!! This is the glassy lip gloss of your dreams. One quick swipe and your lips are moisturized and accentuated. I can't describe how this lip gloss makes your lips look. It enhances the color of your lipstick and gives this amazing layer of shine and gloss that looks like your lips are sealed in a glass mold (in the best way possible). This lip gloss is flattering on any person with any shade of lipstick, or even on its own! I particularly love how it looks on top of my Generation G in Leo :) It's a little bit sticky, but hey, what were you expecting from a lip gloss? It doesn't mess up the lipstick underneath when you apply it on top, and it is super long lasting! No complaints; buy it before it's gone! This may be my favorite Glossier product out of their whole range!

Emma’s take on Nail Polish in #GLOSSIERPINK: It wasn’t until pretty recently in my life that I started to where nail colors other than Lincoln Park After Dark by OPI. I have always loved the way dark nails looked on me and pink never was my favorite color growing up, but Glossier pink showed up on my radar my ways changed. The classic poppy, light pink has now found it’s place in my heart as one of my favorite colors. After I was hooked on this color I started looking for nail colors in this shade, but nothing quite matched the color I saw in their packaging. Black Tie Set made my heart swell once again when I saw it came with the iconic shade of pink I had been searching for for so long. The polish goes on like any other one you see in the store, but it actually lasted a relatively long time (2 weeks) but I think that’s because I use a super amazing top coat by Sally Hansen. Whatever it may be, this color has definitely become one of my top 5 colors to paint my nails with.

Hannah's take on Nail Polish in #GLOSSIERPINK: I have always envied Glossier's signature pink color on their website, packaging, Instagram, etc. Now I finally have it for myself! When they brought out this nail polish, I know it was perfect for me because I was wearing a pale pink shade just like it when I heard the news. Generally in the summer and spring time, I tend to resort to shades like this so when that time comes along again, Glossier's nail polish will definitely be my nail polish of choice. As for the actual polish, the formula lasts about 2.5 weeks on my nails (pretty great huh?) and the applicator is so easy to use because of it's rounded shape. 10/10 nail polish. I just hope they come out with more shades, and come out with more products in #GLOSSIERPINK!

Glossier has done it yet again with their stellar Black Tie Holiday Set. Yes, I know I just said holiday, but I’m pretty sure this collection is staying around for a while after the season ends. All of the products in this set have definitely come in handy for a few holiday parties we’ve been to here and there. ;) We’ve also both put the black satin ribbon that’s part of the packaging to good use as an accessory as seen in the little photo book that the set also comes with. Those Glossier people are so clever! We both highly recommend that if possible, get your hands on this collection. It’s more than worth it.

xoxo,

Emma and Hannah

Related Posts

See All
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
bottom of page