top of page

REVIEW FOR TWO: GLOSSIER'S INVISIBLE SHIELD


With summer fast approaching beauty and skincare have been on our minds! We don't know about all of you, but we are definitely striving to get our complexions glowing and healthy. Living in Los Angeles gives us both the upper hand of easy access to the beach and bright sunshine nearly everyday. It may sound all luxurious, but trust us when we say that it's not always easy breezy. Living in all-year-round sunshine comes with one particularly pesky consequence, namely skin damage. The issue is that sunscreen is kind of the worst. The sticky, white, and pore-clogging formulas on the market discourage us both with our respective skin types from wanting to apply the stuff onto our skin everyday, even if it provides protection. When our cult-beauty favorite brand Glossier came out with Invisible Shield, a daily face sunscreen with a clear water gel formula, we were praising the skincare gods for sending us this guardian angel. Get it? Like a shield. Oh, nevermind here are our reviews. :)

Emma's take on Invisible Shield: I love the outdoors, but I always dread putting on sunscreen. I know that if I don't though that I will regret it in the long run, so I begrudgingly apply the greasy stuff on only when I'm about to go out into blinding sunshine. All that has changed with Invisible Shield. I love how the water gel formula immediately melts into my skin and leaves no grease or white residue behind, and still keeps my skin protected from UV rays with SPF 35, and nasty pollutants out of my skin. I put it on after I moisturize, which is the last step in my routine unless I'm wearing makeup. Now I look forward to putting on sunscreen every morning *gasp.*

My only real complaint about Invisible Shield is that I feel like I can't apply it liberally, since there is so little product in the container. I want to apply it to my face every 2 hours as suggested on the package, but I think I would go through 3 containers in a week at that rate. For now I use it only once in the morning, but I'm inside most of the day so I make do for now. Another thing that I'm a little disappointed about with this product is that fact that it's not water-resistant, so this face sunscreen is meant to be used on land rather than in sea (sorry beach-goers). :( On a more positive note, Invisible Shield has become an integral part of my routine and I'm happy that I found a sunscreen that keeps me protected and doesn't break me out. :)

Hannah's take on Invisible Shield: This product's release could not have had better timing for me; I was on the hunt for a new facial sunscreen, happened to be scrolling through Instagram, and poof! *Glossier posts a new product reveal on Instagram* PERFECT. TIMING. Even if I wasn't looking for a sunscreen, I still would've bought it anyways because of all the incredible claims Glossier put on their website for Invisible Shield. I have never come across an incredible sunscreen that is undetectable, non greasy, and doesn't clog pores; and unfortunately, even after using Invisible Shield for almost a month, I still haven't.

Don't get me wrong, it isn't terrible, it's actually great! I still use it everyday, but I was just so hyped up about Invisible Shield being everything and more than I had ever dreamed of, like it was advertised to be, but it didn't reach my expectations. The best part about this sunscreen is that you never feel like you're wearing sunscreen. Its water gel formula protects, absorbs quickly, and leaves your skin looking beautifully dewy without any white cast at all! You only need a tiny pump of product for your entire face (another plus-- the packaging!!). At the same time, Invisible Shield is pretty expensive for not a lot of product. It's definitely non greasy compared to many other sunscreens, but oily skinned people you must still beware! Powder up if you want your sun protection to not slide off after a couple of hours.

Lastly, I can't really pin point it but I have a feeling that this may be breaking me out because it contains sweet orange peel oil for fragrance, which makes me really sad! I'm still going to keep using it though since it may be another product or just my hormonal skin acting up. I definitely wouldn't let Invisible Shield go just like that... It's really hard to find good sunscreens, and this one definitely delivers on sun protection and wearability (for most skin types)!

Sunscreen can really be the worst, but Invisible Shield ain't too shabby! Clearly we've had two very different experiences with this product, and we want to hear what you have to say! If you have it, do you like it? Hate it? If you don't have it, would you want to try it? Share your experiences with us on Instagram, or share a different sunscreen you think we should try out! Skincare can be tricky, and we love getting and giving advice to the rest of the beauty community. xxx Emma and Hannah <3

Related Posts

See All
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
bottom of page