top of page

REVIEW FOR TWO: GLOSSIER'S WOWDER POWDER AND BRUSH DUO


Glossier as a brand is practically synonymous with dewy and radiant skin. The glowing-from-within look is very in right now, and lots of dry-skinned people rely on Glossier's products to make their dewy dreams come true. Don’t get us wrong, we love a nice glowing goddess complexion, but sometimes when our natural face oils mix with highlighter/sweat/grime/etc., we end up looking like someone poured a bucket of grease on us.

When we heard the news that Glossier was coming out with a new weightless, tinted setting powder targeted to help out us oily-skinned people we nearly flipped out. Could it be possible that Glossier was going matte? It seemed like an oxymoron. Pumped to see that one of our favorite beauty brands was branching out to help us extra shiny people, we kept in mind that this product may not be the be-all-end-all shine controller. Keep on reading to find out each of our verdicts on Glossier’s newest venture: Wowder!

Hannah's take on Wowder:

I didn’t really know what to expect when I saw that Glossier came out with a powder since all of their products are very dewy. However, I must say, I am extremely impressed!

I really, REALLY love Wowder for what Glossier claims it can do. Most powders claim to mattify your skin, set your makeup, and last all day long. Glossier claims that “it cuts shine, sets makeup, and blurs the appearance of pores,” and they’ve absolutely met those claims unlike a lot of other powders I’ve tried (and believe me, I’ve tested many in hopes of taming my oily skin). Keep in mind though, Glossier never says that this product is long lasting or full coverage, which are two things that I’m assuming a lot of people tend to expect from colored setting powders. I definitely took that into account when I tested Wowder for the first time.

Honestly, the fact that it isn’t very long lasting and has very sheer coverage hasn’t bothered me at all because the Pros of Wowder outweigh the Cons immensely. It makes my skin look better than any other powder I’ve ever used! My texture is smoothed out and my face looks multidimensional and healthy, which not many mattifying powders do. The powder is super lightweight, which makes it really easy to not overdo, and also use underneath the eyes!

The powder itself is truly great, and the Wowder brush pairs quite well with it! It’s very soft and cute, but I thought the density of its bristles would end up wiping off the makeup that’s already on my face. Thankfully, it doesn’t do that at all. The size is perfect for my under eyes, and it picks up the perfect amount of product per swipe!

Finally, I thought I’d take a second to appreciate Wowder’s packaging. So cute, right? Well it’s also SO handy!! The trampoline mesh on the inside makes using Wowder not messy at all unlike most cult favorite powders (I’m talking to you Laura Mercier). It makes me very happy to know that spilling powder all over my bathroom counter and floor is much less likely when using Wowder :)

Emma's take on Wowder:

Hannah just about covered it all, but I have a few things to add. Yes, in many ways Wowder checks a lot of boxes. The airy formula leaves your skin feeling like it can still breathe, the tint doesn't wash you out with overcast, and my pores are hidden (at least temporarily) when I dust on a bit of Wowder.

I've said this a million times before, but I'm going to say it again. Matte is not in my skin's vocabulary. I've tried every oil-free product on the market to calm down my face's overproduction of oil, but setting powder is just about my one and only saving grace when it comes to immediately cutting my shine. I've been a Laura Mercier gal for quite awhile now, but the new kid on the block a.k.a. Wowder is making me reconsider my options.

I love how Wowder on it's own is able to immediately bathe my skin in a nice even-tinted coat without any foundation. I try to wear as little on my face as possible, so Wowder has been a big help in keeping me less caked in makeup. Even when I do have foundation on, Wowder makes my skin feel extra soft and less greasy with only a few sweeps.

My only real complaint about this product is that it's not long-lasting. I am well aware that Glossier did not advertise this powder as a long-wear product, but I still feel like I would love it a whole lot more if it was. I always feel like the moment I walk out of the door in the morning my face has already morphed into a oily mess, and I just wish my matte glow would last a little longer. I also find myself wondering if I'm using too much or too little of the product because I always feel like I'm going to run out too soon. I typically go for 3 sweeps of the cute, pink brush around the trampoline mesh center, and I focus on powdering my t-zone.

Overall, Wowder has me impressed. I still can't believe that the dewy complexion loving people at Glossier made such an amazing product designed for matte skin seekers! I'm thoroughly impressed and I can't wait to see Glossier's next move!

The people have spoken... and we can both agree that Wowder is worth the hype. We both decided to make the investment in the powder/brush duo with zero regrets. Glossier proved to us that you don't need to choose between dewy and matte skin anymore because other products of theirs and this powder now give us options! If we feel like radiating glow from our skin one day then that's totally achievable! If we want to go for something a little less shiny, then Wowder can provide us with the silky smooth, less oily complexion we desire. Oh, Wow(der)... we HAD to! Bring it on Glossier, we're ready for the next matte-friendly product to drop!

xoxo,

Emma and Hannah

Related Posts

See All
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
bottom of page