top of page

DIY POLAROID PHOTO DISPLAY


The revival of polaroid picture-taking is in full swing! In fact, it has been for quite a while now. Photographers and novices alike have rediscovered an appreciation for old film, and I can say with certainty that I am in full support of the polaroid resurgence. Taking a polaroid picture (especially a clear, well-lit, perfectly composed one), gives me a sense of gratification. I feel like I’ve successfully captured a memory when I take a good polaroid. Film really is timeless, it’s true.

I got a Instax mini 8 polaroid camera a few years ago, and I have not stopped using it since. I love bringing it to events of all kinds, including music festivals and Galentine’s Day gatherings, so that I can take physical snapshots of my experiences. I have taken SO many lovely polaroids over the years, and I decided recently I wanted to show off my little successes in a display for myself or anyone who enters my craft room to see. :) Keep on scrolling to find out how you can display your own mini works of art for all to admire!

You will need:

20 ' x 24' frame with a thick rim (2-3 inches will do)

Twine

Stapler gun

Hot glue gun

Scissors

Measuring tape

Pen

Polaroids (of course)

Various clothespins, clips, paper clips, etc.

Start by planning out the number of rows of polaroids you want to hang by cutting long pieces of twine and stretching them across the frame. I wanted to hang as many as photos as I possibly could, so I squeezed in 5 rows. I measured about 4 1/2 inches between each piece of twine and marked it with a pen on the piece of glossy paper that comes in the frame to protect the glass. Towards the bottom I eyeballed it a bit because the spacing was getting a little tight. In the end I made it work. :)

Next, glue down the twine, making sure that you have some extra string hanging off of the edge. I used a pencil to hold the string down while the glue was hot. Safety first!

Once the glue is dry, place a piece of tape over the glued-down twine for extra security. And then for even MORE security use the staple gun to staple the glue, string, and tape down. (We can't have any of the polaroid strings falling down on us, can we?) Continue the gluing, taping, and stapling method on the rest of the strings on both sides of the frame, and in 20 minutes you'll have a beautiful display!

Once you've finished attaching all of the lines securely, remove the protective glossy paper and then start hanging your polaroids. I used a variety of clips and clothespins for a unique look, but feel free to stick to one type of photo holder.

Another reason I made this display was to fill up wall space in my craft room. I love walking in and seeing all of my little treasured polaroids hanging up in a corner that was previously empty and sad. :( Now it's a much brighter space and the room definitely feels more complete. :) I'm going to make another display soon for my bedroom because I have tons more polaroids that deserve some wall space too. Also, be aware that this display is not limited to showing off polaroids; I'll probably add some inspiring photos and trinkets here and there soon! I hope that you've been inspired to go out and snap (or dig up) some polaroids and put together a display for them, so that all of your friends and family can see your life in cute and tiny squares and/or rectangles. :)

Till next time loves!

Emma

Related Posts

See All
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
bottom of page