top of page

HANNAH'S CURRENT FACE MAKEUP FAVORITES


Hey everyone! So as you've probably noticed, Emma and I have been talking about skincare a lot recently on the blog. It's been a while since we've shared our favorite makeup products and makeup recommendations (other than Glossier... lol), so I thought I'd take a second to rave about my go to base makeup products of the moment! I have preferred rocking more of my natural look on my skin more recently, and these are the products I use every single day to accomplish that while evening out my skin tone and covering up my blemishes. I have to say, they have really been working out for me, especially during the hot summer days we've been having. Plus these products are super easy and quick to use when you're on the go!

Starting off with the star of the show- Make Up For Ever Water Blend Foundation! This foundation sets the groundwork for my entire makeup routine. It has sheer, yet buildable coverage, it's waterproof, and it has a lovely dewy finish. The best part about this foundation is how lightweight and easy to apply it is. When you pump it out, it has a jelly-like, yet still watery texture. I find it easiest to put a few pumps on my fingertips, blend into my skin using said fingertips, and then going over any streaks super quickly with a damp Beautyblender. Since it's sheer, there's no need for precise application at all, it blends in seamlessly into your skin and evens out your skin tone with just one pump. However, blemishes are another issue. This foundation definitely masks some of the redness that comes with acne, but not all the discoloration. That's where my concealer comes in :)

I'm not as in love with this concealer from BareMinerals as I am with my foundation, but it's been doing a great job for my acne-prone skin. I like how BareMinerals Bare Skin is hydrating, light-medium coverage, and can be blended easily. I only use this as a spot concealer on my active pimples. It has a very thin consistency since it's a serum concealer, so all I have to do is put dots on my face using the wand, and dab lightly with a damp Beautyblender for it to blend into my skin seamlessly. It works like a charm at hiding redness and discoloration especially after foundation, but I can't use it under my eyes without little mini bumps popping up minutes after application. So if you want to try this out, maybe only use it for a spot concealer, or you can take your chances with the undereyes, OR you can check out my next product.

This It Cosmetics Bye Bye Undereye Illumination concealer has quickly become my favorite undereye concealer so far in my time wearing makeup. It's beautifully bright and full coverage underneath the eyes, hiding any eye bags and making you look awake! It has a very thick consistency, and a little goes a very VERY long way. Totally worth the price if you have issues with undereye discoloration. Be warned though!! You're definitely going to want to set this concealer with a setting powder (see below ;) ) because it creases due to it thickness!

And last but not least, Kat Von D's Lock It Translucent Setting Powder! I bought this on a whim after running out of the cult favorite Laura Mercier Translucent Setting Powder, and I don't regret it one bit. I only really use this for my undereyes and the areas that get the most oily on my face when I'm going outside. After applying this, there's no powdery, cakey texture at all, no flashback, and tons of staying power! Plus, when I apply it to areas with sensitive breakouts, it doesn't make my face feel dry and irritated, just protected from the elements.

Using all four of these in conjunction has vastly improved my makeup game and my makeup's daily staying power. My makeup used to melt off after a couple of hours in the summer heat, but now it lasts all day and I don't have to worry about it :) What are your favorite base makeup products? Emma and I always love trying out new things and hearing from you! Let us know, and we'll see you next week :) xoxo- Hannah

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
bottom of page