top of page

WHAT'S IN MY BAG?: OUTSIDE LANDS 2017 EDITION


It is the eve of Outside Lands a.k.a. my favorite three days of the year. This music festival up in foggy San Francisco always has an amazing line-up, great food, and overall good vibes. 2017 marks the festival's tenth anniversary, which means the line-up this year is C-R-A-Z-Y good: Gorillaz, The Who, Lorde, A Tribe Called Quest, alt-J, Future Islands, Empire of the Sun, Solange, and SOOOO many more! The thing about Outside Lands is that it's a much chiller (both mood and weather-wise) event than something like Coachella, but people still get all cute and dressed up. As I was packing my backpack today I was thinking about how I wanted to keep things as light as possible without sacrificing any goods. I decided that a good rule of thumb was to carry things that I wouldn't mind getting bounced around (because concerts). Keep on reading to see what made the cut. :)

Let's start with accessories, shall we? I decided to bring two pairs of glasses because sometimes I feel like switching things up based on what I'm wearing. Plus, I didn't want to bring my nicer pair of sunnies, since I don't want to risk them to getting beat up. Better safe than sorry! I found the heart-shaped glasses at a local thrift shop and the rose-colored sunnies from Anthropologie (how fitting for this happy occasion)! The temporary tattoos on the left are from Tattly that I bought from Blick Art Materials. I can't find the exact ones on Tattly or Blick's websites, but here are similar ones from Tattly. These dainty tattoos will be the perfect adornment to top off my super simple makeup looks for each day.

Now let's talk skin protection and refreshment! Even though the sun is mostly covered by fog and clouds up in SF, that doesn't mean the UV rays are going to leave me alone. Glossier's Invisible Shield will be there to protect my face from the sun, and their Balm Dotcom will keep my lips from chapping. Speaking of hydration, water is a major necessity at Outside Lands/music festivals in general. If you're not hydrated, then you're not happy. Speaking of happiness, I cannot stand wearing makeup outdoors for long periods of time without an occasional blotting sheet break. Feeling refreshed inside and out is my ultimate goal while concert hopping, and all of these goods will help me achieve that.

The only makeup touch-ups I'd be willing to do in the middle of Outside Lands involve my lips. I'm not down to do something as complicated as my mascara without a mirror, but I figure my lips will be easy enough if I feel like doing them. I'll keep my NARS lip gloss in Orgasm and Kosås lipstick in Undone nearby in case I'm feeling fancy.

The last, but certainly not least accessory that I'm toting along with me is this silk scarf from Anthropologie. I love the vintage floral print on this scarf, and I am planning to style it some way or another with each of the outfits I'm bringing (which I will be documenting on Insta so be on the lookout)! I can use this scarf as a bandana, a necktie, or even as a cute accent on my backpack (shown above). :) I love the versatility of this little blue scarf!

I can't wait to walk into the festival with all my goods without feeling like I'm being weighed down. I've been waiting for what has felt like forever for this weekend to come and now that it's finally here I'm pumped! This is my third year attending Outside Lands, and with a little experience behind me I feel more prepared than ever. Music festivals can be pretty intimidating, but once you get into the swing of things everything seems to fall into place. I'll keep you all well updated and informed on my outfits, the food, and of course, the shows on our Insta (@chaiteafortwoblog). Get ready to virtually come to Outside Lands with me this weekend!

xoxo,

Emma

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
bottom of page